Skip to main content

New Council Named for 2020-2022


The Guild has named its new Council for the two-year term of May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2022. Dennis Heaton was re-elected by WGC members and resumes his role as President.
Vancouver-based Heaton (showrunner Motive, The Order) is joined on the Council’s executive by returning Vice President Andrew Wreggitt (Fortunate Son) and Treasurer Alex Levine (Orphan Black). Previously a Councillor, he takes over the role of Treasurer from Mark Ellis (Flashpoint, X Company), who has stepped down after 10 years.
“On behalf of the WGC membership, I’d like to thank Mark for his decade of service on Council,” said Executive Director, Maureen Parker. “He’s made an invaluable contribution to bettering the working environment for screenwriters over the past 10 years.”
Also returning to the WGC Council for the next term are Michael Amo (Pure), Marsha Greene (Coroner) and Anne-Marie Perotta (Big Top Academy). Joining the group is newly elected Councillor Lienne Sawatsky. She is a creator, showrunner, story consultant and award-winning screenwriter based in Toronto and is the co-creator and executive producer of the offbeat and hilarious Teletoon animated series Wishfart
Working alongside Parker, the new WGC Council is ready to protect and advance the rights of Canadian creators as the industry faces a period of unprecedented change.


More News


WTTV: TallBoyz set for March 3


February's Script of the Month Announced


Announcing 2021's First Script of the Month


WGC Members to Watch at CMPA's PrimeTime Online


WGC Special Awards Now Open for Entries

cut to

WGC Launches New Podcast, CUT TO:

All news