Skip to main content

WGC Screenwriting Awards


The 2020 WGC Screenwriting Awards are now closed. The 2020 awards ceremony will take place on Monday, April 27 at Koerner Hall in Toronto. 

A new Preschool category has been added, while the Best New Series category has been retired. We are now accepting nominations for the following categories:

• Children’s
• Comedy Series
• Documentary
• Drama Series
• Feature Film
• MOW & Miniseries
• Preschool
• Shorts & Webseries
• Tweens & Teens

The deadline for script category entries was Sunday, Dec. 1 at 11:59 p.m. EST. The call for entries for special categories, including the WGC Showrunner Award, the Sondra Kelly Award, the McGrath Service Award and the Alex Barris Mentorship Award, will be announced in the coming weeks. 

To sponsor the WGC Screenwriting Awards, contact Nardina Grande:

More News


Webinar: CMF Early-Stage Development Program


WTTV: Transplant Now on YouTube


WTTV Goes Digital with Transplant


Ontario TV & Film COVID-19 Guidelines Published


WGC to Work on Protections for Story Coordinators


WGC Response to Story Coordinator Petition

All news