Skip to main content

WGC Screenwriting Awards Presenters Announced


Talent from Baroness von Sketch Show, JANN, Nurses (working title) and Workin’ Moms are on deck for the gala evening that celebrates Canada’s best screenwriters. 

The 23rd annual WGC Screenwriting Awards, take place April 29 at the TELUS Centre for Performance and
Learning’s Koerner Hall in Toronto. And joining host Gavin Crawford to hand out the hardware are:

  • Baroness von Sketch Show co-creator, actor and Season 4 showrunner Jennifer Whalen with writer/actor Kathleen Phillips (Workin’ Moms, Mr. D)
  • JANN co-creator and showrunner Jennica Harper with one of JANN’s breakout actors Elena Juatco (Cale)
  • Upcoming drama series Nurses (working title) showrunner Adam Pettle with one of its core ensemble-cast members Jordan Johnson-Hinds (Blindspot, Suits)
  • Screenwriters Carol Hay (co-creator Frankie Drake Mysteries) and Sugith Varughese

The WGC Screenwriting Awards are the only awards in Canada to focus solely on screenwriting talent.
The 2019 list of finalists includes screenwriters being recognized for their work on Cardinal, Cupcake
& Dino: General Services, Killjoys, Letterkenny, Little Dog, Odd Squad, Schitt’s Creek, Second Jen,
and more. Special awards including the McGrath Service Award, the Jim Burt Screenwriting
Prize, the Sondra Kelly Award and WGC Showrunner Award will also be presented.

Writer, comedian and host of CBC Radio’s Because News, Gavin Crawford, is hosting the 2019 awards,
scripted by screenwriter Kyle Tingley.

Members can contact the box office at 416-408-0208, to buy tickets. Non-member tickets can be purchased online

More News


COVID-19 Update: CMF & Telefilm Fund Guidelines


COVID-19 Update: Canadian Heritage Funding


Deciphering Development Funding


WGC Joins Industry Health & Safety Committee


New Council Named for 2020-2022


2020 WGC Screenwriting Awards Program

All news