Skip to main content

WGC Special Awards Now Open For Entries

award logo

The WGC is currently accepting nominations for the WGC Showrunner Award and the Sondra Kelly Award, which will be presented on April 24, 2023, at the WGC Screenwriting Awards ceremony in Toronto.

The Showrunner Award puts Canada’s best showrunners on centre stage to recognize their role as the true creative force that drives the development and production of television series.

Generously sponsored by AFBS, the $5,000 Sondra Kelly Award is open to mid-career female-identifying screenwriters looking to research/develop a self-initiated project. Sondra Kelly was a longtime member of the WGC and held the first WGC-designated seat on the AFBS board.

The deadline for entries is SUNDAY, MARCH 5, 2023 at 11:59 pm EST

A list of eligibility requirements and the entry form for the WGC Showrunner Award is available here

The entry form and eligibility requirements for the Sondra Kelly Award is available here. 


More News

Qaseem Fazal

June Script of the Month

Clement and Michael

Clement Virgo in Conversation with Michael McGowan

Shadow program

The WGC Shadowing Program


May's Script of the Month

we support the WGA

Message to WGC Members Regarding the WGA Strike


WGC partners with Working the Scene in Colour

All news