Skip to main content
Canadian Screenwriter Magazine Masthead

SPRING 2019 (Vol. 21 No.2)

  • konyves

    Murder. Revenge. The Mob.

    Bad Blood was a Canadian mafia tale waiting to be told. How writers Michael Konyves and Simon Barry turned the epic true crime story into a hit series.
    Full Article

  • Mark Little Image

    Getting Lively

    Cavendish co-creator Mark Little talks about moving from writing for animation to live-action comedy — they have more in common than you might think.
    Full Article

  • Pitch Perfect Image

    Pitch Perfect?

    Experienced showrunners weigh in on how to nail that first pitch meeting — and how to keep the faith if it all goes pear-shaped.
    Full Article

more articles
  • Dennis Heaton, WGC President
    Inside/Out From the President

    WGC President Dennis Heaton doesn't remember his first negotiation, but he's learned when to fold them, and more importantly, when to hold 'em.
    Full Artlcle

  • Marsha Greene Head Shot
    W-Files: Marsha Greene

    Marsha Greene on how she transitioned from reality television producer to TV writer for hit series like Mary Kills People
    Full Article

  • Kathleen Phillips Head Shot
    W-Files: Kathleen Phillips

    It’s only fitting that Kathleen Phillips is pacing the floor, bouncing her three-month-old baby as she discusses her writing role on Workin’ Moms.
    Full Article

Hot off the press image

News from WGC Members

Each issue of Canadian Screenwriter features the latest news on WGC members. This time around, there are more than 30 updates on screenwriting for docs, TV drama, comedy, and the new novels, plays and adaptations in the works. There's also news on option agreements, greenlights and awards won. Phew. They have been busy. 
Full article

Canadian Screenwriter Spring 2019 cover
Latest Issue

Canadian Screenwriter magazine is published three times a year by the Writers Guild of Canada. It is written for, and by, television and film writers and is an important source of industry news and policy decisions that impact screenwriters. For further information please contact Lana Castleman or click on the following links to subscribe or advertise.

Cover photo: Emma McIntyre 

Subscribe, Advertise, Rates

Publisher  Maureen Parker
Editor  Tom Villemaire
Director of Communications  Lana Castleman 
Editorial Advisory Board  Michael Amo, Rachel Langer, Michael MacLennan, Susin Nielsen, Simon Racioppa